The xx – Coexist

The XX“Being Crystalised and in Love with you as I am.”

Coexist is a logical consequence of a divorce.
The second album has always been crucial for every band.
Usually bands tend to replicate the style of their first studio album to minimize the loss in sales and fanbase. The xx, now, seem to have produced almost the same product, but also to have gained a new confidence in their abilities. Knowing they can experiment with their songs and that the audience will remain rapt, no matter how much they’re going to simplify their sound.

“Coexist” is due for release on September 10. It will be difficult to know the creative effect loss of Baria Qureshi’s divorce. The duets of Romy Madley Croft and Oliver Sim with backing from Jamie, are always reaching levels of deep vocal seduction.
Jamie Smith (better known as Jamie XX) singer and producer of the band, more and more often sounds like Ebtg’s Tracey Thorn, but she is like her XXI’s century replica. “It just sort of carries it on,” said Madley Croft “it as a development of where we were before.” No music explosion, just a simple sense of progress that feels familiar and a little bit aseptic at the same time.

If in 2009 someone find “Shelter, in this way/ Under cover, hide away”, now The xx could play better together, and the rhythms becomes comfort sound because “I wake up alone, but last night the world was beneath us. / Tonight comes, dear love/We’ll be torn apart by the break of day.’

So it goes with this London trio in accelerated times of political and social changes, The xx gives us a direction and a clearer definition of what is our living. Minimalism that have drawn an infinite success that could be “the “band of our generation”.

Coexist is together in unison and fused into one. The message shared intimacy and the consistency in keeping even if the the three wrote individually. They record snippets of songs on Garageband or their phones and emailing them back and forth. Piecing them together in a space in east London, recording them in a photography studio in north London and learning to play them live at the rehearsal space.
On September 19, The xx will collaborate with the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra for new arrangements of their upcoming record. Nice downward trend with a little bit more.
Antonello Furione


1. Angels
2. Chained
3. Fiction
4. Try
5. Reunion
6. Sunset
7. Missing
8. Tides
9. Unfold
10. Swept Away
11. Our Song

Contacts: http://thexx.info

Permanent link to this article: http://therockblogreview.com/the-xx-coexist/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>